MIGRATION MONDAY report

Today was just one of those days that you cannot describe. You must have witnessed it for yourself. I arrived at Wendy Park late…Around 8:30 a.m. The drive in to the park, down a long fenced corridor of grape vines and young cottonwoods was a hint of what was to come, with dozens of White-throated and White-crowned Sparrows scattering with yellowthroats, Yellow-rumps and Palms.

Arriving at the east end of Wendy, I started to circle and walk through the small field patches and was met with a dizzying horde of sparrows scattering at nearly every step I took. White-throated and White-crowned, Song, Swamp, Savannah, Lincoln’s Sparrows and a single Nelson’s. Scads of yellow-rumps, Palms, yellowthroats, Nashvilles, five Orange-crowns, Winter Wrens, Sedge and Marsh Wrens….. It was mind-boggling. A single Sora flushed right in front of me and I was beyond overjoyed as this was my biggest nemesis of the year for Cuyahoga County (#247 for 2012 in Cuyahoga). I cannot describe the numbers of sparrows, kinglets, creepers, thrushes, warblers packed into Wendy today. It was simply one of the best days I’ve ever witnessed and truly stunning and jaw-dropping.

Dike 14 was off the hook with incredible number of sparrows and warblers, kinglets, creepers, Red-breasted Nuthatches. No words can describe today. No words.

A few photos, of Hermit Thrushes and a Ruby-crowned Kinglet caught in vegetation (rescued) at Wendy Park today. Plus a female Purple Finch from Dike 14. Photos by JB

20121008-184748.jpg

20121008-184813.jpg

20121008-184848.jpg

20121008-184946.jpg

One thought on “MIGRATION MONDAY report

  1. It truly was an amazing day there today, and I appreciate the head’s up you gave. Even before I got to the park itself, my truck was surrounded by hundreds of Chimney Swifts that were literally flying down the road between the grape vines after the Water Plant, and before the guard shack. They were coming at me so fast I was afraid they were going to hit ME instead of the other way around! On the field near “the mound”, the Swifts continued their low-level assault, passing so close to me I could hear their wings. I’ve never seen swifts quite like this!

    I didn’t get a chance to see quite as much as you, but I had a good day! I know I scored some nice Winter Wren shots, and hopefully a few more as well.

    Amazing Kinglet pic and story you’ve got there! Is it just stuck in wormwood, or is there something else there I can’t see? Glad you saved it!

    Unfortunately, I only had an hour and 15 minutes to hang out before I had to leave for work, but it was worth even the short stay to see SO many birds of all kinds in one small place. No lie…every nook and cranny of Wendy Park was filled with birds. I really had a difficult time leaving…

Leave a Reply

